Canadian Screen Awards 2023 Canadian Screen Awards 2023

The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television’s 2023 Canadian Screen Awards were held across last week, with a final gala televised on Sunday evening.

The awards don’t have a category for animated features, but this year’s best animated short honor (or honour if you’re north of the border) went to The Flying Sailor from leading Canadian auteurs Wendy Tilby and Amanda Forbis. The film was a heavy favorite before the winners were announced, having already racked up numerous international recognitions and an Oscar nomination. This year’s visual effects award went to Peter MacAuley, Kayden Anderson, Tom Turnbull, and Caitlin Foster for their work on David Cronenberg’s Crimes of the Future.

In television, Wildbrain Studios’ The Snoopy Show was picked as the year’s best animated series or program, with Guru Studio and Spin Master Entertainment’s PAW Patrol taking the award for best preschool series or program. Best visual effects went to Joe Kicak and Sebastian Harder for the Detention Adventure episode “Negative Space.”

In the digital media category, Unlimited VR’s Lou was picked as the best non-fiction immersive experience while The Orchid and the Bee won best fiction immersive experience. Sarah Northway’s I Was A Teenage Exocolonist was selected as the year’s top Canadian video game.

2923 Canadian Screen Awards Animation, VFX, and Video Game Winners

Animated Short

  • The Flying Sailor, Wendy Tilby, Amanda Forbis, David Christensen

Achievement in Visual Effects

  • Peter MacAuley, Kayden Anderson, Tom Turnbull, Caitlin Foster (Crimes of the Future)

Animated Series or Program

  • The Snoopy Show, Anne Loi, Josh Scherba, Stephanie Betts, Paige Braddock, Craig Schulz, Mark Evestaff, Kimberly Small

Pre-School Program or Series

  • PAW Patrol, Jennifer Dodge, Ronnen Harary, Keith Chapman, Ursula Ziegler-Sullivan, Laura Clunie, Toni Stevens, Jonah Stroh, Dan Mokriy, Tracey Dodokin, Jason McKenzie, Damian Temporale

Direction, Animation

  • Charles E. Bastien (PAW Patrol “Rescue Knights: Quest for the Dragon’s Tooth”)

Writing, Animation

  • Stephanie Kaliner, Lakna Edirisinghe (Pinecone & Pony “The Pwettiest Pony / Try This Club On For Size”)

Writing, PreSchool

  • Ken Cuperus, Sandy Jobin-Bevans (Happy House of Frightenstein “Heirloom Doom”)

Sound, Animation

  • Richard Spence-Thomas, Tim Muirhead, Mitch Connors, Luke Dante, Kyle Peters, Ryan Ongaro, Patton Rodrigues (PAW Patrol “Rescue Knights: Quest for the Dragon’s Tooth”)

Visual Effects

  • Joe Kicak, Sebastian Harder (Detention Adventure “Negative Space”)

Original Music, Animation

  • Ari Posner, Amin Bhatia, Kris Kuzdak (Let’s Go Luna! “Dig it Daddy-O”)

Immersive Experience, Non-Fiction

  • Lou, Jean-Philippe Turgeon, Pascal Pelletier, Annick Daigneault, Martine Asselin, Sébastien Gros, John Hamilton

Immersive Experience, Fiction

  • The Orchid and the Bee, Frances Adair Mckenzie, Jelena Popović, Michael Fukushima

Video Game

  • I Was A Teenage Exocolonist, Sarah Northway

Pictured at top: The Flying Sailor, The Snoopy Show, PAW Patrol

Latest News from Cartoon Brew