The German short, Kaputt by Alexander Lahl and Volker Schlecht, won the grand prix at the 23rd Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film (ITFS), which wrapped up last Sunday. The prize was 15,000 euros.

The international short jury, comprised of Cav Bogelund, Spela Cadez, Rocio Ayuso, Jala Maghout, and Till Penzek, awarded Kaputt the top prize, citing it as “a powerful record of the strength and cruelty of human nature. With raw and haunting images, the film examines a part of history which should not be forgotten.” The trailer is below:

Korean animator Seoro Oh won the Lotte Reiniger Promotion Award for Animated Film, which awarded 10,000 EUR to a graduation film.

ITFS gave out over 53,000 EUR in prize money, including the introduction of the Amazon Audience Award (5,000 EUR prize), which was picked by internet users. Another new award was the Local Heroes Game Award (5,000 EUR prize), which was presented to the most innovative computer game made in Baden-Württemberg, the German state in which Stuttgart is located.

A complete list of winners is below:


Grand Prix

  • Kaputt (Broken)
    Alexander Lahl, Volker Schlecht (Germany, 2015)

Lotte Reiniger Promotion Award for Animated Film

  • Afternoon Class
    Seoro Oh (South Korea, 2015)

Lotte Reiniger Promotion Award (Special Mention)

  • Rhizome
    Boris Labbé (France, 2015)

SWR Audience Award

  • Paniek
    Joost Lieuwma, Daan Velsink (Netherlands, 2015)

TELE 5 “Leider geil!” Special Award

  • Ivan’s Need
    Veronica L. Montaño, Manuela Leuenberger, Lukas Suter (Switzerland, 2015)

Amazon Audience Award

  • Chateau de Sable
    Quentin Deleau, Lucie Foncelle, Maxime Goudal, Julien Paris, Sylvain Robert (France, 2015)

Young Animation – Award for the Best Student Film

  • Pro Mamu (About a Mother)
    Dina Velikovskaya (Russia, 2015)

FANtastisc Award

  • Toutes Nuancées (All their shades)
    Chloé Alliez (Belgium, 2015)

Tricks for Kids—Award for the Best Animated Children’s Short Film

  • Alike
    Daniel Martínez Lara, Nicolás Matji (Spain, 2015)

Tricks for Kids—Award for the Best Children’s Animated Series (National)

  • Petzi: Schildkröteninsel
    Michael Bohnenstingl, Paul Cichon, Johannes Weiland (Germany, 2015)

Tricks for Kids—Award for the Best Children’s Animated Series (International)

  • The Long Long Holiday: The Secret
    Paul Leluc (France, 2015)

AniMovie—Award for the Best Full-Length Animated Film

  • Psiconautas, los niños olvidados (Psychonauts, The Forgotten Children)
    Pedro Rivero, Alberto Vázquez (Spain, 2015)

German Animation Screenplay Award

  • Die Olchis—der Film
    Writer: John Chambers

German Voice Actor Award

  • Kostja Ullmann for the role of Sam in the film Sam O’Cool – Ein schräger Vogel hebt ab

Crazy Horse Session—The 48 Hour Animation Jam

  • Team Lebanon: Lea Azar, Marylin Haddad

Local Heroes Games Award

  • The Inner World
    Tobias Frisch

Latest News from Cartoon Brew