Gallery Nucleus hosts tribute exhibition to Tim Burton’s “Edward Scissorhands”

April 16, 2011 — May 09, 2011
Opening Reception: April 16, 2011(7 pm – 11 pm)

On April 16, Gallery Nucleus transforms into the mystical world of Edward Scissorhands as we host an exhibition to tribute Tim Burton’s classic love story and its unforgettable characters; Edward, Kim, Peg and a band of colorful suburbanites.

It was twenty years ago that the public was introduced to the modern-day fairy tale Edward Scissorhands. Though the story of an outcast or “freak” misunderstood by “normal” society is nothing new, this brilliantly designed film with the sweetness and sadness of romantic love coupled with Gothic overtones resonated deeply with audiences and injected beauty and enchantment into the familiar.

The curatorial online project Scissorhands 20th created by artist Sebastien Mesnard, is an ongoing online blog that features the work of artists from across the globe, creating works inspired by the story and its’ characters and executed through the artists own unique approach. In collaboration with Sebastien Mesnard, Gallery Nucleus will be showcasing a selection of original works from the Scissorhands 20th blog. The exhibit will highlight the works of over 40 artists, including paintings, drawings, prints, sculptures, etc. and unite enthusiasts and fans in celebrating the 20th anniversary of Edward Scissorhands and Tim Burton’s unparalleled creative vision.

Opening Reception highlights include:

  • Live music.
  • Free refreshments and ambrosia served.
  • A chance at great prizes for those dressed in their best Scissorhands-inpired attire.
  • Giveaways courtesy of Avon.
  • This is an all ages event
  • Admission is free.

Artists Featured: Alina Chau, Amelie Fléchais, Andrea Kalfas, Aurian Redson, Aya Miyazaki, Becky Dreistadt, Benjamin Lacombe, Bill Robinson, Bob Doucette, Brigette Barrager, Brittney Lee, Celine Loup, Chuck Groenink, Cory Godbey, Daniela Volpari, Dave Perillo, Denny Khurniawan, Drake Brodahl, Drazen Kojan, Emmanuelle Walker, Eren Blanquet, Graham Annable, Israel Sanchez, Jason Caffoe, Jerrod Maruyama, John Kenn Mortensen, Josh Parpan, Joyce Colson, Ken Garduno, Ken Turner, Laura Iorio, Lilidoll, Lorelay Bové, Lorena Alvarez, Luisa Uribe, Maly Siri, Marietta Ren, Nicolas Léger, Pascal Campion, Robert Kondo, Roberto Ricci, Seo Kim, Uli Meyer, Vincent Ehrhart-Devay, Xander (Alex) Leighton, Xavier Collette ..and more!

For more information, please see:

Latest News from Cartoon Brew