Following the recent announcement of its impressive guest lineup, the Berkeley, California-based GLAS Animation Festival has revealed its Official Competition Selections, as well as the short films included as part of the Children’s Competition, the U.S. Competition, and the International Showcase.

Ninety-three films were chosen from over 3,400 submissions. GLAS’s extensive program will have some overlap with the short animation programs at the recent festivals in Park City: Ana Nedeljković and Nikola Majdak’s Untravel, Andre Hormann and Anna Samo’s Obon (pictured above), and Tomek Popakul’s Acid Rain screened at the 2019 Sundance Film Festival, while Martina Scarpelli’s Egg, Nienke Deutz’s Bloeistraat 11, and Amanda Bonaiuto’s Hedge were Slamdance selections.

Aside from the screening programs, GLAS offers panels and workshops with internationally acclaimed industry professionals, installations, networking events, and plenty of parties. Now in its fourth edition, the festival has become a hotspot for the U.S. animation community and proven that there’s a lot of independent spirit in the industry-heavy West Coast scene.

Here are all of the official GLAS selections:

  • 32-Rbit by Victor Orozco Ramirez
  • A Fly in the Restaurant by Xi Chen
  • Acid Rain by Tomek Popakul
  • Agouro by David Doutel & Vasco Sa
  • Agua Viva by Alexa Lim Haas
  • Apart by Diana Cam Van Nguyen
  • Between Us Two by Wei Keong Tan
  • Beware the Intuition by Robin Courtel
  • Bloeistraat 11 by Nienke Deutz
  • Ce Gout en Bouche by Laura Passalacqua
  • Chimera by Caleb Wood
  • Currents by Xinyi Zhu
  • Don’t Know What by Thomas Renholder
  • Egg by Martina Scarpelli
  • Egg Touching by Peter Millard
  • Embraced by Justine Vuylsteke
  • Fest by Nikita Diakur
  • Good Intentions by Anna Mantzaris
  • Grands Canons by Alain Biet
  • Half Asleep by Caibei Cai
  • Hedge by Amanda Bonaiuto
  • How Steel Was Tempered by Igor Grubic
  • III by Marta Pajek
  • I’m Going Out for Cigarettes by Osman Cerfon
  • Les lèvres gercées by Kelsi Phung
  • Like Us, Lovers by Dotan Moreno
  • Mr. Deer by Mojtaba Mousavi
  • Museum Guard by Alexander Gratzer
  • Nothing Happens by Michelle and Uri Kranot
  • On Ambition, Courtship, & Reproduction by Pernille Kjaer
  • Paper Trail by Jake Fried
  • Per Tutta la Vita by Roberto Catani
  • Roughhouse by Jonathan Hodgson
  • Slug Life by Sophie Koko Gate
  • Solar Walk by Réka Bucsi
  • Take the Five by Conner Griffith
  • La Chute by Boris Labbé
  • The Night of the Plastic Bags by Gabriel Harel
  • The Sister’s Bedroom by Claire Brognez
  • Winners Bitch by Sam Gurry
  • Your Eyes Will I Ever by Félicien Colmet Daâge
  • Athleticus: Gardien de Gymnase by Nicolas Deveaux
  • But Jane Was Deaf by Tobias Rud
  • Cloudy by Zuzana Cupova, Filip Diviak
  • Dum dee bolala dum by Peter Millard
  • Fire in Cardboard City by Phil Brough
  • Flipped by Hend Esmat, Lamiaa Diab
  • Goldie by Emily Brundige
  • Hedgehog by Vaibhav Keswani, Jeanne Laureau, Colombine Majou, Morgane Mattard, Kaisa Pirttinen, Jong-ha Yoon
  • Hors Piste by Leo Brunel, Loris Cavalier, Camille Jalabert, Oscar Malet
  • KO Scotty by Thee Khanthavit
  • Kuap by Nils Hedinger
  • Little Red Riding Hood by Martina Hocova
  • Lost and Found by Andrew Goldsmith & Bradley Slabe
  • Mushroom Park by Timothy Rauch
  • My Best Friend Explodes by Will Anderson and Ainslie Henderson
  • Night Moves by Falk Schuster
  • Pops & Branwell by Aleks Sennwald, Pete Toms
  • Pre School Poets by Nancy Kangas, Josh Kun
  • Stuffed by Élise Simoulin, Édouard Heutte,
  • Clotilde Bonnotte, Anna Komaromi, Marisa Di Vora Peixoto, Helena Bastioni
  • Teofrastus by Sergei Kibus
  • The Bird & the Whale by Carol Freeman
  • Adorable by Cheng-Hsu Chung
  • Finity Calling by Jasper Kuipers
  • Floreana by Louis Morton
  • Giant Bear by Daniel Gies & Neil Christopher
  • I’m Ok by Elizabeth Hobbs
  • Live a little by Jenny Jokela
  • Obon by Andre Hormann & Anna Samo
  • Raymonde and the Vertical Landscape by Sarah Van Den Boom
  • Reruns by Rosto
  • Rhizoma by Santiago Pérez Rodríguez
  • Sahara Palace by Zélie Durand-Khalifat
  • Sounds Good by Sander Joon
  • The Missing Pig by Cecilia Corzo
  • Untravel by Ana Nedeljković and Nikola Majdak Jr.
  • Wildebeest by Nicolas Keppens and Matthaias Plips
  • Albatross Soup by Winnie Cheung
  • Ballerina by Steven Subotnick
  • Bike Trip by Tom Schroeder
  • Flora by Chaerin Im
  • Guidance by David Delafuente
  • Guster by John Kelley
  • No Man is an Island by Jack Wedge
  • Prist by Eric Ko
  • Random Thoughts by Steven Vander Meer
  • Reverie by Henry McClellan
  • Solipsism by Tuna Bora & Jonathan Djob Nkondo
  • Sparky by xinbaonuzi
  • Sun Zoom Spark by Gina Kamentsky
  • The Backwards Astronomer by Jacob Nelson
  • The Trick by Andrea Nakhla
  • Wayside by Angela Stempel

For information on purchasing festival passes and attending the festival, visit

Animation news you can use
Support independent publishing

Your membership will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you. Support Cartoon Brew for as little as $1 a week — the process is fast and easy.

Become A Member   
Carlos Aguilar

Carlos Aguilar

Carlos Aguilar is a contributing writer to Cartoon Brew. Find him on Twitter.

More in Festivals:

Latest News from Cartoon Brew