The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has announced the finalists for the 41st Student Academy Awards. The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday, June 7, at the DGA Theater in Hollywood. Among the five categories, one of them is dedicated entirely to animation, and another category—Alternative—includes animated films in it, too.

Here are the nominees in those two categories:

Baxter, Ty Coyle, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
Goodnight Boon, Jeremy Jensen, New York University
Higher Sky, Teng Cheng, University of Southern California
Marcel, Eric Cunha and Seung Sung, School of Visual Arts, New York
Owned, Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah
Roadkill Redemption, Karl Hadrika, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
Two Ghosts, Amy Lee Ketchum, University of Southern California
Umbra, Pedro Jesus Atienzar Godoy, Pratt Institute, New York
Yamashita, Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California

Dreamers, Joseph Dwyer, Boston University
Entropic Apogee, Bill Manolios, Art Institute of California – San Francisco
Jaspa’ Jenkins, Robert Carnilius, Columbia College Chicago
Oscillate, Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York
Passer Passer, Louis Morton, University of Southern California
Person, Drew Brown and Ramona Ramdeen, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida
The Private Life of Fenfen, Leslie Tai, Stanford University
Staircases, Steinar Bergoy Nedrebo, School of Visual Arts, New York

According to the Academy:

Academy members will now vote to determine up to three winning films in each category. The winners, but not their medal placements, will be announced later this month. The winning students will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 7, at 6 p.m., at the DGA Theater in Hollywood (7920 Sunset Boulevard), at which time the gold, silver and bronze medalists will be revealed. The awards ceremony on June 7 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets may be obtained online at or by mail. For more information, call (310) 247-2677.

Congratulations to all the nominees, and an extra-special congrats to Louis Morton, whose nominated film Passer Passer was also a selection in Cartoon Brew’s 2013 Student Animation Festival.

Latest News from Cartoon Brew