Cartoon Brew has obtained the list of animated shorts that were submitted for consideration and qualified in the animated short film category of the 90th Academy Awards.

Sixty-three shorts were deemed eligible in the category, down slightly from the record-setting 70 shorts that qualified last year.

Cartoon Brew had previously published an unofficial list of shorts that we had tracked throughout the year and could have qualified for the category, and 54 of the 63 officially qualified shorts were included on our earlier list.

Below is the Academy’s official list of qualified films that are in contention for the next edition of the Oscars, which will be presented on Sunday, March 4, 2018:

  • The Absence of Eddy Table – Rune Spaans (Norway)
  • Among the Black Waves – Anna Budanova (Russia)
  • Ben and Big – Rowan Grey Sutherland (USA)
  • Bullet Time – Frodo Kuipers (Netherlands)
  • Call of Cuteness – Brenda Lien (Germany)
  • Coin Operated – Nicholas Arioli (USA)
  • Confino – Nico Bonomolo (Italy)
  • Cop Dog – Bill Plympton (USA)
  • Cradle – Devon Manney (USA)
  • A Dad – Robert Cambrinus (Austria)
  • Darrel – Marc Briones, Alan Carabantes (Spain)
  • Dear Basketball – Glen Keane (USA)
  • E-delivery – Young Gul Cho (USA)
  • Ein Aus Weg – Simon Steinhorst, Hannah Lotte Stragholz (Germany)
  • Eternal Hunting Grounds – Elin Grimstad (Norway/Estonia)
  • Everything – David OReilly (USA)
  • Flutter – Vladimir Todorov (Bulgaria/USA)
  • Follow Your Heart – Rob O’Neill (USA)
  • Fox and The Whale – Robin Joseph (Canada)
  • Garden Party – Florian Babikian, Vincent Bayoux, Victor Caire, Theophile Dufresne, Gabriel Grapperon, Lucas Na (France)
  • Goose in High Heels – John Dilworth (USA)
  • Green Light – Seongmin Kim (South Korea)
  • Hedgehog’s Home – Eva Cvijanović (Canada/Croatia)
  • Here’s the Plan – Fernanda Frick (Chile)
  • Hold Me (Ca Caw Ca Caw) – Renee Zhan (USA)
  • Hugo Bumfeldt – Éva Katinka Bognár (Hungary)
  • I Am Little Red – Mary Mazzio, Gabriel Osorio, Alec Sokolow (USA)
  • I Like Girls – Diane Obomsawin (Canada)
  • In A Heartbeat – Beth David, Esteban Bravo (USA)
  • In a Nutshell – Fabio Friedli (Switzerland)
  • An Island – Rory Byrne (Ireland)
  • La Casa de Colores (The House of Colors) – Nicolás P. Villarreal (Argentina)
  • Life Smartphone – Chenglin Xie (China)
  • Lost Property Office – Daniel Agdag (Australia)
  • Lou – Dave Mullins (USA)
  • Love – Réka Bucsi (Hungary/France)
  • A Love Story – Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara (UK)
  • Min Börda (The Burden) – Niki Lindroth Von Bahr (Sweden)
  • Mr. Madila – Rory Waudby-Tolley (UK)
  • My Heart Attack by Sheldon Cohen (Canada)
  • Negative Space – Ru Kuwahata, Max Porter (France)
  • Nighthawk – Špela Čadež (Slovenia/Croatia)
  • Nothing Happens – Michelle Kranot, Uri Kranot (Denmark/France)
  • Once A Hero – Xia Li (USA/China)
  • Panic Attack! – Eileen O’Meara (USA)
  • Puppy – Genndy Tartakovsky (USA)
  • Pussy – Renata Gasiorowska (Poland)
  • Radio City Maniapolis – Georgia Patterson (USA)
  • Revolting Rhymes – Jan Lachauer, Jakob Schuh (Germany/UK)
  • Song of a Toad – Kariem Saleh (Germany)
  • Spring Jam – Ned Wenlock (New Zealand)
  • Strange Case – Zbigniew Czapla (Poland)
  • The Talk: True Stories About the Birds and the Bees – Alain Delannoy (Canada)
  • The Tesla World Light – Matthew Rankin (Canada)
  • Threads – Torill Kove (Canada/Norway)
  • Ugly – Nikita Diakur (Germany)
  • Valley of White Birds – Cloud Yang (China)
  • Wednesday with Goddard – Nicolas Ménard (UK)
  • Weeds by Kevin Hudson USA)
  • We’re Going on a Bear Hunt – Joanna Harrison, Robin Shaw (UK)
  • Whatever the Weather – Remo Scherrer (Switzerland)
  • Wicked Girl – Ayce Kartal (France)
  • World of Tomorrow, Episode 2: The Burden of Other People’s Thoughts – Don Hertzfeldt (USA)
So what happens now?

A review process is currently underway by volunteer active and life members of the Academy’s Short Films and Feature Animation branch. This group will view all 63 shorts, either by watching the shorts at screenings that take place over a two-day period in both Los Angeles and New York City, or through online viewing. The 10 most-highly rated shorts will advance to the shortlist, which the Academy will announce after the voting period is over in late-November.

The 10 shortlisted films will be screened again, this time by a larger group of the Short Films and Feature Animation branch. This second round of voting determines the five nominees, which will be announced on Tuesday, January 23, 2018. The final voting to determine the winner of the Academy Award is open to the entire Academy membership.


Amid Amidi

Amid Amidi is Cartoon Brew's Publisher and Editor-at-large.

Latest News from Cartoon Brew