Primal. Primal.

The Television Academy has announced the juried award winners for the 72nd Emmy Awards in the animation, interactive media, and motion design categories. The awards will be presented at the 2020 Creative Arts Awards ceremonies on Thursday, September 17, streaming on

In the individual achievement for animation, three of the five winners were artists who contributed to the first season of Adult Swim’s dialogueless limited series Primal. Among the winners was Primal creator Genndy Tartakovsky, who picked up his fourth Emmy win for his storyboarding efforts on the series. The other Primal honorees were art director Scott Wills (his third Emmy) and character designer Stephen DeStefano (his first win).

Here are the juried winners, including interactive media and motion design:

Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation
  • Archer “Road Trip” — FX Networks — FX Productions
    Jill Dykxhoorn, lead background artist
  • Cosmos: Possible Worlds “Vavilov” — National Geographic — Possible Worlds LLC in association with Fox
    Dan MacKenzie, character animator
  • Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal “Spear and Fang” — Adult Swim — Cartoon Network Studios
    Genndy Tartakovsky, storyboard artist
  • Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal “Spear and Fang” — Adult Swim — Cartoon Network Studios
    Scott Wills, art director
  • Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal “A Cold Death” — Adult Swim — Cartoon Network Studios
    Stephen DeStefano, character designer
Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming
  • Create Together — Youtube — Hitrecord, Brian Graden Media, YouTube Originals
    Sam Wasserman, executive producer
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt, executive producer
  • The Line — Oculus — Arvore Immersive Experiences
    Ricardo Laganaro, director
    Ricardo Justus, executive producer
    Edouard de Montmort, executive producer
Outstanding Motion Design
  • Inside Bill’s Brain: Decoding Bill Gates — Netflix — A Concordia Studio Production
    Leanne Dare, creative director
    Eben McCue, animator
    Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes, animator
    David Navas, animator

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group. As a consequence, there are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.

The 2020 Creative Arts Emmy Awards will stream on for four consecutive nights beginning Monday, September 14, through Thursday, September 17, at 8pm ET/5pm PT with a fifth broadcast ceremony on Saturday, September 19, at 8pm ET/5pm PT on FXX.