The Television Academy has announced the juried animation and motion design award winners for the 70th Emmy Awards, which will be presented at the 2018 Creative Arts Awards ceremonies on Saturday, September 8, and Sunday, September 9.

This year’s juried winners for outstanding individual achievement in animation are:

  • Lindsay Small-Butera, character animation
    Adventure Time “Ketchup” (Cartoon Network Studios)
  • Stu Livingston, storyboard artist
    Hey Arnold! The Jungle Movie (Nickelodeon)
  • Jeff Scher, production designer
    The Number On Great-Grandpa’s Arm (HBO Documentary Films)
  • Justin Martin, background designer
    The Scariest Story Ever: A Mickey Mouse Halloween Spooktacular (Disney Television Animation)
  • Caroline Cruikshank, character animation
    The Simpsons “Springfield Splendor” (Gracie Films in association with 20th Century Fox Television)
  • Patrick Bryson, background painter
    Steven Universe “Jungle Moon” (Cartoon Network Studios)

The following two projects are the winners in the category of outstanding motion design:

  • Broad City “Mushrooms” (Jax Media)
    Mike Perry (animation director), Isam Prado (supervising animator), Eric Perez (animator), Maya Edelman (animator), Barbara Benas (animator)
  • Wasted! The Story Of Food Waste (Zero Point Zero Films)
    Mike Houston (design and graphics director), Daniel de Graaf (art director), Naoko Saito (motion graphics and visual effects artist), Ryan Frost (motion graphics and visual effects artist), Chris King (motion graphics and visual effects artist)

Pictured at top: “Mushrooms” sequence from “Broad City”

Latest News from Cartoon Brew