BAFTA Children & Young People BAFTA Children & Young People

BAFTA has unveiled the nominations for the 2022 Children & Young People Awards, although this edition comes with a twist.

As it’s been three years since the last time the Children & Young People Awards were handed out, productions which featured an original release in the U.K. between July 1, 2019, and June 30, 2022, are eligible this year. It’s creating some interesting lineups of nominees in certain categories.

In the feature film category, for example, 2019 BAFTA winner Klaus is up against 2020’s Over the Moon and 2021 BAFTA nominees The Mitchells Vs. The Machines and Wolfwalkers. It would be quite a feat if three years after winning the BAFTA for best animated feature, Netflix’s now perennial family favorite Klaus added a Children & Young People BAFTA to its trophy shelf.

This year’s Children & Young People Awards will take place at the Old Billingsgate in London on Sunday November 27, hosted by tv and radio presenter Lindsey Russell.

Below are all the nominees in categories that contain animation. Not all nominees in every category are animated:

Feature Film

  • Klaus – Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh – Netflix
  • The Mitchells vs. the Machines – Mike Rianda, Kurt Albrecht, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller – Netflix
  • Over the Moon – Glen Keane, Gennie Rim, Peilin Chou – Netflix
  • Wolfwalkers – Will Collins, Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart – Cartoon Saloon, Melusine Productions in association with Apple TV+


  • Hilda – Production team – Hilda Productions Limited, Netflix Inc., Mercury Filmworks
  • Robin Robin – Dan Ojari, Mikey Please, Helen Argo – Aardman Animations for Netflix
  • The Snail and the Whale – Production team – Magic Light Pictures, BBC One
  • The Tiger Who Came to Tea – Robin Shaw, Ruth Fielding, Camilla Deakin – Lupus Films Limited/Channel 4

Content for Change

  • Ada Twist, Scientist – Production team – Laughing Wild, Higher Ground Productions, Wonder Worldwide, Netflix
  • El Deafo – Gilly Fogg, Cece Bell, Will McRobb – Lighthouse Studios in association with Apple TV+
  • Only a Child – Simone Giampaolo, Gabriella De Gara – Amka Films/YouTube
  • Waffles + Mochi – Production team – Higher Ground Productions, Netflix


  • Steve Cox – Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas
  • Mic Graves – The Amazing World of Gumball
  • Max Lang, Daniel Snaddon – The Snail and the Whale
  • Rhys Thomas – Dodger


  • Bluey – Joe Brumm, Charlie Aspinwall, Sam Moor – Ludo Studio/BBC Studios Kids & Family, Disney
  • City of Ghosts – Elizabeth Ito, Joanne Shen, Ako Castuera – Netflix
  • Kiri and Lou – Fiona Copland, Heather Walker, Harry Sinclair –  Stretchy and Yowza Animation/CBeebies
  • Maya and the Three – Jorge Gutierrez, Tim Yoon, Jeff Ranjo – Netflix

Pre-School – Animation

  • Circle Square – Production team – Wyndley Animation Ltd, Kavaleer Productions, Channel 5
  • Hey Duggee – Grant Orchard, Sander Jones, Janine Voong – Studio AKA/CBeebies
  • Pip and Posy – Production team – Magic Light Pictures, Channel 5, Sky Kids
  • The Very Small Creatures – Lucy Izzard, Stephanie Owen – Aardman/Sky Kids


  • Max Lang, Suzanne Lang – The Snail and the Whale –  Magic Light Pictures/BBC One
  • Joe Markham, Mic Graves, Tony Hull – The Amazing World of Gumball – Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network
  • Lucy Montgomery, Rhys Thomas – Dodger – Universal International Studios for BBC/CBBC
  • Lee Walters – Silverpoint – Zodiak Kids & Family Productions UK/CBBC


  • Astro’s Playroom – Development team – Asobi Team/Sony Interactive Entertainment
  • Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga – Development team – TT Games/Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment
  • Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart – Development Team – Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive Entertainment
  • Sackboy: A Big Adventure – Development team – Sumo Sheffield/ Sony Interactive Entertainment


  • Justin Fletcher – Mr Tumble’s Busy Bus Day – BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies
  • Chris O’Dowd – Here We Are: Notes for Living on Planet Earth – Studio AKA/Apple TV+
  • Cathy Tyson – JoJo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/CBeebies
  • Julie Walters – Terry Pratchett’s The Abominable Snow Baby – Eagle Eye Drama/Channel 4

Young Performer

  • Bobby Beynon – The Adventures of Paddington – Blue Zoo Animation, NICK Jr, Studio Canal, Heyday Films, Superprod/Nick Jr
  • Ella Bright – Malory Towers – King Bert Productions/BBC iPlayer
  • Keaton Edmund – Jamie Johnson – Short Form Film Ltd/CBBC
  • Taiya Samuel – JoJo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/CBeebies

Pictured at top: Klaus, The Mitchells vs. the Machines, Wolfwalkers, Over the Moon

Latest News from Cartoon Brew