2012 CG Student Award Winners Announced

The winners for the 2012 CG Student Awards have been announced.

The CG Student Awards (formerly Computer Graphics Student Awards) is an annual event which showcases and rewards excellence in computer graphics from students and recent graduates. The Computer Graphics Student Awards started in 2009, lead by Andrew McDonald and Alwyn Hunt, owners of, and was the first student awards of its kind dedicated to computer graphics students worldwide.

From over 360 entries worldwide, the judging panel has hand-picked the winners for the Student of the Year and Studio Internship categories. The voting process involved judges scoring each entry based on criteria including — creative skills, technical skills, presentation, variety of skills, raw talent and future potential.  In addition to these categories, the 2012 CG Student Awards is pleased to announce the winners of the People’s Choice and School of the Year.

Winner, Student of the Year: Gerard Dunleavy — Belfast, United Kingdom

Runner Up, Student of the Year: Raphael Gaudin — Montpellier, France

Student of the Year Finalists: Danica Parry, Stephan Skorepa, Kevin George, Wendy Pham, Jason Phua, Donald Bradford, Bastien Mortelecque, Rami Ali Al-ashqar

Studio Internships

Studio Internships were up for grabs from some of the world’s leading production companies, including BlueBolt, Double Negative, Framestore, Moving Picture Company, Prime Focus and The Mill.

Canada Internship WINNERS: Woong Park, Leonardo Bonisolli

Europe Internship WINNERS: Gerard Dunleavy, Raphael Gaudin, Edwin Schaap, Bastien Mortelecque, Rami Ali Al-ashqar

People’s Choice

The People’s Choice Award is voted by the public. The people have spoken, and the winner is Victor Gaza. Check here for the complete list of finalists:

School of the Year Winner — Vancouver Film School (CAN)

The School of the Year winner is selected using a weighted points scoring system. Each school receives points based on the number of students that are winners, finalists, and highly commended.

To find out about all the winners, visit