Beverly Hills, CA (May 15, 2012) — Ten students from nine U.S. colleges and universities have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. Winners will be brought to Los Angeles to join the international student winners in the Foreign Film category for a week of industry activities. The festivities will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 9, at 6 p.m. at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills, where the placements in each category will be announced.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title in each category):

The Reality Clock, Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California*
*Only one winner was selected in this category.

Eyrie, David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts
The Jockstrap Raiders, Mark Nelson, University of California, Los Angeles
My Little Friend, Eric Prah, Ringling College of Art and Design

Dying Green, Ellen Tripler, American University
Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment, Keiko Wright, New York University
Lost Country, Heather Burky, Art Institute of Jacksonville

Nani, Justin Tipping, American Film Institute
Narcocorrido, Ryan Prows, American Film Institute
Under, Mark Raso, Columbia University

This is the first time that a student from the Art Institute of Jacksonville has won a Student Academy Award.

To reach this stage, U.S. students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories. Academy members earlier selected students from Germany and the United Kingdom as finalists in the Foreign Film category.

To follow the journeys of the 2012 Student Academy Award winners, visit

Animation news you can use
Support independent publishing

Your membership will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you. Support Cartoon Brew for as little as $1 a week — the process is fast and easy.

Become A Member   

Latest News from Cartoon Brew