Annecy 2012 Announces Prizewinners

June 10, 2012 – The 36th International Animation Film Festival came to an end this evening.

“The quality, diversity and richness are the salt of our Festival”, Serge Bromberg.

Setting the tone with 244 films presented in the official competition, after over 380 screening hours and 2,455 films watched by the Creative Content team, headed up by Festival Artistic Director, Serge Bromberg.

Once again this year the best of animation was on show with 80 countries represented and stable attendance figures of 7,000 participants, equal to last year.

This 36th Festival was punctuated with a number of sneak previews including Ernest & Celestine, presented in a WIP session in 2011; some first footage of Kirikou les hommes et les femmes, scheduled for release at the end of the year; Day of the Crows; Paperman, the latest short from the Walt Disney Animation Studios; and The Suicide Shop, the first venture into animation by French director Patrice Leconte.

It was also the opportunity to go behind the scenes in the Making of sessions for films like Houba! On the Trail of the Marsupilami, with Alain Chabat and Pierre Buffin, along with 30 minutes of the new Pixar, Brave. The WIP sessions also attracted even greater crowds interested in finding out more about Hotel Transylvania or Foosball.

Screenings on the giant screen set up on the Pâquier lawn have become an unmissable event for the general public: this week film fans had to brave the  unpredictable weather to watch such hits as Walt Disney Animation’s first-ever feature, Snow White and the Seven Drawfs (1937), Despicable Me and A Monster in Paris.

For the first time, the closing ceremony was broadcast live on the giant screen, giving even more people the possibility to take part in a much-awaited show.

This rich programme was also full of emotion as it was the last signed by Serge Bromberg, Festival Artistic Director for the past 14 years, who is now passing the torch over to Canadian Marcel Jean.

Marcel Jean came to the NFB in 1998 as a producer. He then moved to the Animation and Youth studio, where, under his leadership, the studio emphasised its commitment to producing auteur animation.

Over the years, he also built on the work of his predecessors and the long-standing interest in international co-productions, establishing an agreement with the French studio Folimage to set up an animation filmmaker in residence programme.

Previous to this, he was involved in the worlds of film and publishing as a critic, writer (Le Langage des lignes; Pierre Hébert, l’homme animé), collections director at Les 400 Coups Publishing House, curator at the Cinémathèque québécoise, and taught Animation and Aesthetics at the University of Montreal.

He has also directed five of his own films, including Vacheries (1990) and Écrire pour penser (1999) and co-produced films by Georges Schwizgebel (Jeu), Florence Miailhe (Conte de quartier) and Regina Pessoa (Tragic Story with Happy Ending).

Check out the prizewinning films:
Short films
The Annecy Cristal
Michaela Pavlátová
Sacrebleu Productions

Special Jury Award
Edmond était un âne
Edmond Was a Donkey

Franck Dion
France, Canada
Papy 3D Productions, ONF, Arte France

“Jean-Luc Xiberras” Award for a first film
The People Who Never Stop
Florian Piento
France, Japan

Special Distinction
Seven Minutes in the Warsaw Ghetto
Johan Oettinger
Basmati Film

Sacem Award for original music
Modern No. 2
Mirai Mizue

Junior Jury Award for a short film
História d’Este
Story of Him

Pascual Pérez
The Sensible Man Animation

Audience Award
Second Hand
Isaac King

Feature films

The Cristal for best feature
Crulic — Drumul Spre Dincolo
Le Voyage de monsieur Crulic
Crulic — The Path to Beyond

Anca Damian
Aparte Film

Special Distinction

Ignacio Ferreras
Perro Verde Films

Audience Award
Couleur de peau : miel
Approved for Adoption

Laurent Boileau, Jung Henin
France, Belgium, South Korea, Switzerland
Mosaïque Films, Artemis Productions, Panda
Media, Nadasdy Film

TV and Commissioned films

The Cristal for best TV production
Secret Mountain Fort Awesome “Nightmare

Pete Browngardt
Cartoon Network Studios

Special Award for a TV series
Stella and Sam “Voyage sur la lune”
Stella et Sam “Voyage sur la lune”
Dave Merritt, Raymond Jafelice
Radical Sheep Productions Inc.

Award for best TV special
The Gruffalo’s Child
Petit Gruffalo
Johannes Weiland, Uwe Heidschötter
Great Britain
Magic Light Pictures, Studio Soi GmbH & Co.
KG Filmproduktion

Educational, scientific or industrial film Award
Le Droit de suite
Resale Right
Pierre-Emmanuel Lyet
Doncvoilà Production

Advertising or promotional film Award
Red Cross “Stuff”
Andrew Hall

Award for best music video
We Cut Corners “Pirate’s Life”
Przemyslaw Adamski, Kartazyna Kijek
Graduation films

Award for best graduation film
The Making of Longbird
Will Anderson
Great Britain
Edinburgh College of Art

Special Jury Award

Boris Labbe
EMCA — École des métiers du cinéma d’animation

Special Distinction
Le Jardin enchanté
Viviane Karpp
La Poudrière

Junior Jury Award for a graduation film
Jaime Maestro
Primer Frame — Escuela de Animación

Other prizes

Unicef Award
Couleur de peau : miel
Approved for Adoption
Laurent Boileau, Jung Henin
France, Belgium, South Korea, Switzerland
Mosaïque Films, Artemis Productions, Panda
Media, Nadasdy Film

Fipresci Award
Michaela Pavlátová
Sacrebleu Productions

“CANAL+ creative aid” Award for a short film
Una furtiva lagrima
Carlo Vogele