Judges Announced For 2013 Kidscreen Awards

Ramping up for its first round of judging, the 2013 Kidscreen Awards team has assembled three panels of judges who will carefully review all of the entries submitted into the Programming Categories. These qualified and respected entertainment professionals are:

Preschool (0 to 5)
Carla de Jong — Executive in Charge of Production, Children’s and Youth Programming, CBC
Henrietta Hurford-Jones — Director of CBeebies Investment, BBC Worldwide
Deborah Macdonald — Independent Children’s Media Consultant
Chris Rose — Commissioning Editor, Animation, ABC Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Kids (6 to 11)
Hugh Baldwin — Director, Nickelodeon Australia
Alan Gregg — Director of Original Content, TELETOON Canada
Layla Lewis — Director of Programming & Acquisitions, Turner Broadcasting Asia Pacific
Tara Sorensen — Head of Children’s Series Development, Amazon Studios

Tweens/Teens (12 to 17)
Jan-Willem Bult — Creative Head, KRO Youth
David Kleeman — President, American Center for Children and Media
Tracia Ord — Senior Manager, Disney XD Worldwide

The first-round judges’ scores will determine a shortlist of programs and websites that will move on to a second and final round of judging, conducted by three new jury panels.

The deadline for submitting entries into the Kidscreen Awards 2013 Programming Categories (Best Animated Series; Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series; Best One-Off, Special or TV Move; and Best Companion Website) is Friday, September 14.

And in our Broadcasting Categories, dedicated kids channels and strands from around the world can compete for the following Kidscreen Awards:

  • Channel of the Year
  • Best Channel Design
  • Best Channel Website
  • Best Interstitial Campaign
  • Best Integrated Promotion
  • Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team

The entry deadline for the Broadcasting Categories is Friday, October 19. Entries received in these streams will be reviewed and shortlisted by Kidscreen’s esteemed editorial team, and the final winners determined by an industry vote.

Winners will be announced at an evening presentation event as part of next year’s Kidscreen Summit, which is set to take place in New York from February 5 to 8. All Kidscreen Summit delegates will be invited to attend the ceremony and cocktail party as part of their event experience, after registering online at And other guests can sign up to attend just the Kidscreen Awards event for $150, beginning in January.

This is the fourth year that the Kidscreen Awards will single out and celebrate the world’s best kids programming and broadcasting achievements. “It’s truly a privilege to be able to pay tribute to the consistently outstanding work of the global kids television industry,” says Kidscreen VP & Publisher Jocelyn Christie. “We are grateful to all of the companies who share their projects with us for supporting our mission to build the Kidscreen Awards into the industry’s most meaningful set of prizes.”

Detailed information on eligibility, judging and entering can be found at