DreamWorks technical director Nathan Loofbourrow was elected without opposition as President of the Los Angeles animation union Animation Guild, Local 839 IATSE. Prior to this, Loofbourrow was the Guild’s vice-president. The outgoing president Bob Foster will run for the executive board.

Jack Thomas, a writer for DreamWorks Television and current board member, was elected as the Guild’s new Vice-President, and longtime Guild business rep Steve Hulett was re-elected to his position. Both ran without opposition.

The Guild will announce the election winners for its Executive Board in November. There are fifteen candidates to fill eleven positions. In addition to Foster, the nominees include incumbents Bronwen Barry, John Cataldi, Nicole Dubuc, Janette Hulett, Cathy Jones, Gordon Kent and Eugene Son, plus former Board member Russell Calabrese and newcomers David Chlystek, Bill Flores, David Gemmill, Larry Smith, Robert St. Pierre and Dave Thomas.

Latest News from Cartoon Brew