The nominations for the 36th annual Annie Awards were announced today. Kung Fu Panda recieved 17 nominations including Best Animated Feature and individual nominations for character animation, character design, directing, music, production design, storyboarding, voice acting and writing. Walt Disney Animation Studios, led by Bolt, received 9 nominations and Pixar, led by Wall-E, received 8 nominations.

The nominees in the production categories are:

Best Animated Feature

Bolt — Walt Disney Animation Studios
Kung Fu Panda — DreamWorks Animation
$9.99 — Sherman Pictures/Lama Films
Wall-E — Pixar Animation Studios
Waltz With Bashir — Sony Pictures Classics/Bridgit Folman, Les Films D’ici, Razor Films

Best Animated Home Entertainment Production

Batman: Gotham Knight — Warner Bros. Animation
Christmas Is Here Again — Easy To Dream Entertainment
Futurama: The Beast with a Billion Backs — The Curiosity Company in association with 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment
Justice League: The New Frontier — Warner Bros. Animation
The Little Mermaid: Ariel’s Beginning — DisneyToon Studios

Best Animated Short Subject

Glago’s Guest — Walt Disney Animation Studios
Hot Dog — Bill Plympton Studio
Presto — Pixar Animation Studios
Sebastian’s Voodoo — Joaquin Baldwin
Wallace & Gromit: A Matter of Loaf and Death — Aardman Animations Ltd.

Best Animated Television Commercial

Giant Monster — Curious Pictures
Long Legs Mr. Hyde — Curious Pictures
Rotofugi: The Collectors — Screen Novelties
Sarah — Z Animation
United Airlines “Heart” — Duck Studios

Best Animated Television Production

King of the Hill — 20th Century Fox TV
Moral Orel — ShadowMachine
Phineas and Ferb — Disney Television Animation
Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode II – ShadowMachine
The Simpsons — Gracie Films/Fox TV

Best Animated Television Production Produced for Children

A Miser Brothers Christmas — Warner Bros. Animation
Avatar: The Last Airbender — Nickelodeon
Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends “Destination Imagination” — Cartoon Network Studios
The Mighty B! — Nickelodeon
Underfist: Halloween Bash — Cartoon Network Studios

This years Winsor McCay recipients, previously announced, include Mike Judge, John Lasseter and Nick Park for career contributions to the art of animation.

Winners will be announced at the 36th Annual Annie Awards ceremony on Friday, January 30, 2009, at UCLA’s Royce Hall, in Los Angeles, CA. A complete listing of all the Annie Award nominations is posted on

Animation news you can use
Support independent publishing

Your membership will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you. Support Cartoon Brew for as little as $1 a week — the process is fast and easy.

Become A Member   

Jerry Beck

More in Events:

Latest News from Cartoon Brew