The External World

The winners of the 2010 Ottawa International Animation Festival were announced this evening at an awards ceremony. David OReilly took home the grand prize for his new short The External World while Phil Mulloy won the feature film grand prize for Goodbye Mister Christie. The members of the 2010 International Jury for the Short Program, Student and Commissioned Films were Frances Leeming (Canada), Munro Ferguson (Canada), and Maya Yonesho (Japan). The members of the International Jury for the Feature Film Competition were Atsushi Wada (Japan), Torill Kove (Canada/Norway), and Michaela Pavlatova (Czech Republic). The complete list of winners is below:

The 2010 Nelvana GRAND PRIZE for Best Independent Short Animation ($3,000 CDN):
The External World by David OReilly (Ireland/Germany)

The 2010 GRAND PRIZE for Best Animated Feature:
Goodbye Mister Christie by Phil Mulloy (United Kingdom)

The 2010 Walt Disney Animation Studios GRAND PRIZE for Best Student Animation:
Prayers for Peace by Dustin Grella (U.S.A.)

The 2010 GRAND PRIZE for Best Commissioned Animation:
Going West by Martin Andersen and Line Andersen (New Zealand)

The 2010 Best Animation School Showreel:
Tokyo Arts University (Japan)

Honorable Mention:
Rhode Island School of Design (U.S.A.)

The 2010 Best Narrative Short:
This is love by Lei Lei (China)

The 2010 Best Experimental/Abstract Animation:
Little Deaths by Ruth Lingford

The 2010 Adobe Prize for Best High School Animation:
Where is the love by Dae Woen Yoon and Joe Woo Shin (South Korea)

The 2010 Best Undergraduate Animation:
LGFUAD by Kelsey Stark (U.S.A.)

The 2010 Best Graduate Animation:
Prayers for Peace by Dustin Grella (U.S.A.)

The 2010 Best Promotional Animation:
WWF ‘Heroes of the UAE’ by Josiah Newbolt and Ben Falk (United Kingdom)

The 2010 Best Music Video:
Blockhead ‘The Music Scene’ by Anthony Schepperd (U.S.A.)

The 2010 Best Television Animation for Adults:
Midtown Twist by Gary Leib (U.S.A.)

Special Mention:
Tord och Tord (Tord and Tord) by Niki Lindroth von Bahr (Sweden)

Special Mention:
Fumiko no Kokuhaku (Fumiko’s Confession) by Ishida Hiroyasu (Japan)

The 2010 Best Short Animation Made for Children:
Cul de bouteille (Specky Four Eyes) by Jean-Claude Rozec (France)

Honorable Mention:
Diversity by Anthony Dusko (U.S.A.)

The 2010 Best Television Animation Made for Children:
The Gruffalo by Jakob Schuh and Max Lang (United Kingdom)

Honorable Mention:
Spliced ‘Helen’ by Matt Ferguson (Canada)

The 2010 National Film Board of Canada PUBLIC PRIZE:
Sinna Mann (Angry Man) by Anita Killi (Norway)

The Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian Animation:
Lipsett Diaries by Theodore Ushev (Canada)

Honorable Mention:
Playtime by Steven Woloshen (Canada)

Animation news you can use
Support independent publishing

Your membership will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you. Support Cartoon Brew for as little as $1 a week — the process is fast and easy.

Become A Member   
Amid Amidi

Amid Amidi

Amid Amidi is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Cartoon Brew.

More in Events:

Latest News from Cartoon Brew