The Annie Awards

The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, will be presenting the 36th Annual Annie Awards a week from Friday, January 30, 2009, at UCLA’s Royce Hall in Westwood, California. The evening begins with a pre-reception at 6 p.m. followed by the Annie Awards ceremony at 8 p.m. and post award party at 10 p.m. Tom Kenny (SpongeBob SquarePants) will once again be hosting. Presenters include voice actress June Foray, director Henry Selick (Coraline), actors Brad Garrett (Ratatouille), Seth Green (Robot Chicken), Michael Clarke Duncan (Kung Fu Panda), James Hong (Kung Fu Panda), Donald Faison (The Boondocks), and Ben Burtt (Wall-E). Presenting the Winsor McCay award to Pixar’s John Lasseter will be Roy Disney.

General Admission Tickets are $25. VIP tickets, which include the pre-reception and post awards party are $250. Discount VIP Tickets for ASIFA-Hollywood, The Animation Guild, Visual Effects Society and Women in Animation Members are $150. To order tickets or for further information, visit

Cartoon Brew will give away a pair of VIP tickets to four lucky winners in a contest on Friday. Check back here tomorrow (1/23) at 9am (Pacific Time) for details.

Latest News from Cartoon Brew