The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that 20 films have been shortlisted for the visual effects category of the 2015 Academy Awards.

The films, selected by the Academy’s Visual Effects Branch Executive Committee, are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • Ant-Man
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Bridge of Spies
  • Chappie
  • Everest
  • Ex Machina
  • Furious Seven
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2
  • In the Heart of the Sea
  • Jupiter Ascending
  • Jurassic World
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Martian
  • Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation
  • The Revenant
  • Spectre
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Terminator Genisys
  • Tomorrowland
  • The Walk

A reduced shortlist of 10 films will be announced later this month, at which time the members of the visual effects branch will vote to select five Academy Award nominees. The nominations will be announced on Thursday, January 14, 2016.

Latest News from Cartoon Brew