2012 ASIFA-East Awards Announced 2012 ASIFA-East Awards Announced
EventsMusic VideosShorts

2012 ASIFA-East Awards Announced

Tonight, ASIFA-East handed out prizes for its 43nd annual Animation Festival. The Rauch Brothers took home the Best in Show for their 9/11-themed short John and Joe. Two children’s films that I particularly enjoyed at the screening were Michael Sporn‘s inspiring I Can Be President (which was shown in excerpted form) and an adaptation of Mo Willems’ book Don’t Let The Pigeon Stay Up Late directed by Pete List. The latter showed that preschool animation can engage audience participation without talking down to kids.

The most surprising film of the evening was Leah Shore‘s Old Man. The “old man” in question is Charles Manson, and Shore uses a breathless array of techniques and styles to illustrate recordings of his schizophrenic ramblings. Though we’ve posted Shore’s films here before–see BOOBatary and Meatwaffle–I’d suggest that Old Man is a breakout work for the young filmmaker. She is a talent to watch.

A full list of winners follows the jump.


John and Joe
StoryCorps/Rauch Brothers


1st Place
Karen Aqua – Director

2nd Place
Steven Subotnick – Director

3rd Place
Old Man
Leah Shore – Director


1st Place
the light that died in my arms
Alan Foreman – Director

2nd Place
(Baby) It’s You!
David Cowles, Jeremy Galante, Brad Pattullo – Directors

3rd Place
Le Soleil Chante (The Sun Sings)
Delphine Burrus – Director


1st Place
Turning A Corner
David B. Levy – Director

2nd Place
Dr. Breakfast
Stephen Neary – Director

3rd Place
The First Time Cee-Cee Did Acid
Twins are Weird
Noelle Melody – Director
Joy Vaccese – Producer

Excellence in Animation
More Than Winning
Nick Fox-Gieg – Director
Susan Murray – Animator

Excellence in Design
The Girl and the Fox
Base14/Tyler J. Kupferer – Director

Excellence in Design
Orbis Park
Andrew Kaiko

Excellence in Soundtrack
Car Crash Opera
Skip Battaglia – Director
Jairo Duarte-Lopez, Michaela Eremiasova – Composers

Excellence in Writing
Wolf Dog Tales
Bernadine Santistevan – Director


1st Place
Miss Devine
StoryCorps/Rauch Brothers

2nd Place
Don’t Let The Pigeon Stay Up Late
Mo Willems Studio/Weston Woods
Pete List – Director

3rd Place
I Can Be President
Michael Sporn Animation, Inc.
Michael Sporn – Director

Excellence in Education
Journey of a Water Molecule
The Knowledge Project/PS69x
Jose Maldonado, MB Hunnewell – Directors

Excellence in Writing
A History of Animation
Morgan Miller – Director
Morgan Miller, Josh Kleefeld – Writers


1st Place
Head Start ‘Window of Opportunity”
Curious Pictures/Matt Smithson – Director

2nd Place
Country Buildin’
David Pagano – Director

3rd Place
Person Pinball
Aaron Hughes – Director

Excellence in Animation
Red Brick Saga: Pirates of the Caribbean
David Pagano – Director
Jeff Wallenhorst, Sarah Wickliffe, Mick Bouschor, Erin Natal – Animators


1st Place
Apt. 5A
Leonardo De Luzio

2nd Place (tie)
Test Train
Brandon Denmark

2nd Place (tie)
Cowboy, Clone, Dust
Matt Christensen

Honorable Mention
Reddish Brown and Blueish Green
Samantha Gurry

  • “John & Joe” …. great job

  • Anonymous

    Been a fan of Leah Shore’s for some time and am elated that her strengths continue to flourish, surprise, and bloom fervently. Old Man was definitely my favorite film of the evening.

  • I completely agree about Leah’s film. It showed tons of inventiveness and an impressively diverse set of talents from art direction to animation. It will be really fun to see what she does next.