Tag Officers Tag Officers

The Animation Guild (TAG), IATSE Local 839, has unveiled the results of this year’s guild officers and executive board elections.

The five guild officers, all of whom ran unopposed, are:

  • President: Jeanette Moreno King
  • Vice President: Teri Hendrich Cusumano
  • Business Representative: Steve Kaplan
  • Recording Secretary: Paula Spence
  • Sergeant-at-Arms: Danny Ducker

Three of the five officers who won their elections were running for re-election: Kaplan, Moreno King, and Spence.

According to Kaplan, “It is an incredible honor… The election results show the membership stands behind the work that we have put into growing the footprint, and therefore the strength, of the Local. I welcome the new Executive Board members in their leadership positions, and I look forward to working with them towards continuing the work of organizing the animation industry.”

Moreno King added, “We accomplished much during the last three years—organizing production staff, expanding to a national union, big gains in our last contract negotiations, and all during a pandemic and social and political unrest. The fact that I get to keep representing this amazing community for another three-year term with an Executive Board that is 75% women is a career high. I am looking forward to continuing the fight for respect for all animation workers.”

Eleven guild members were elected to the executive board, presented here in order of vote count:

  • Carrie Liao, story artist at Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Ashley Long, supervising director
  • Roger Oda, visual development artist at DreamWorks Television
  • Mairghread Scott, animation writer/executive producer
  • Candice Stephenson, lead look development artist at Nickelodeon
  • Alex Quintas, storyboard artist at Titmouse
  • Madison Bateman, co-producer/head writer at Disney Television
  • Brandon Jarratt, general technical director at Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Justin Weber, animator at Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Erica Smith, background painter at Disney Television
  • Marissa Bernstel, storyboard artist at Bento Box Animation

The three board members receiving the most votes were appointed as trustees: Carrie Liao, Ashley Long, and Roger Oda. Officers and board members will be sworn into office on December 6, kicking off a three-year term.

Pictured at top: TAG business representative Steve Kaplan and president Jeanette Moreno King.

Latest News from Cartoon Brew