"Carmen Sandiego" "Carmen Sandiego"

The Daytime Emmy Awards have unveiled this year’s winners in the juried category of individual achievement in animation (at last).

The category recognizes achievement in various industry roles: the jury evaluates work submitted by art directors, storyboard artists, background designers, painters, character designers, and animators.

This year saw a record number of submissions. Judging was initially supposed to take place in person in March, with the winners to be revealed in June; the pandemic forced the process to go virtual, causing a delay.

The winners are:

  • Olivia Ceballos, visual development artist — Trolls: The Beat Goes On! (Netflix)
  • Savelen Forrest, character animator — Tumble Leaf (Amazon Prime Video)
  • Wei Li, storyboard artist — Carmen Sandiego (Netflix)
  • Sylvia Liu, art director — Carmen Sandiego (Netflix)
  • Steve Lowtwait, background designer — Big City Greens (Disney Channel)
  • Chris O’Hara, character animator — Ask the Storybots (Netflix)

Adam Sharp, president and CEO of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (which hands out the Emmys), said in a statement:

Today, we proudly honor the outstanding professionals that make up the individual achievement in animation category in our Daytime Emmy Awards. As we continue to rise to the challenge of honoring our Emmy Award recipients during Covid-19, we happily celebrate these talented individuals who bring us the marvel of children’s animation programming in these challenging times.

The rest of the 47th annual Daytime Emmy Awards were announced in July. Disney Junior’s Elena of Avalor and Disney Channel’s Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventure were the big winners, both picking up three prizes.

Image at top: “Carmen Sandiego”

Latest News from Cartoon Brew