clone-wars clone-wars

‘Star Wars: Clone Wars’ Leads 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Award Nominations


The nominations for the 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, presented to programs broadcast between 2am and 6pm, have been announced.

Star Wars: Clone Wars, winner of last year’s award for Outstanding Special Class Animated Program, leads the nominations in the animation categories with seven nominations overall. Peg+Cat is right behind, with six nominations.

Further proof of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ commitment to recognizing online content, Moonbot, the studio whose Chipotle spot The Scarecrow picked up multiple awards last year, received five nominations for their Dolby-presented short, Silent. DreamWorks Animation’s Netflix series All Hail King Julien also earned five nominations.

Additionally, four of the six artists receiving Emmy Awards for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation are being honored for their work on Tumble Leaf for Amazon Instant Video.

Outside of the animation-centric categories, the theme songs from All Hail King Julien, The 7D, and Dora and Friends: Into the City received nominations, while animated programs also feature strongly in the Outstanding Music Direction and Composition category, with nominations for Sofia the First, Peg+Cat, Silent, Star Wars: The Clone Wars and The Tom & Jerry Show.

Nickelodeon’s Wallykazam! and PBS’s Peg+Cat also received nominations in the Outstanding Main Title and Graphic Design category.

The winners of the Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be announced on Sunday April 26.

A complete list of nominees in animation-related categories is below.

Outstanding Special Class Animated Program

  • Phineas and Ferb Save Summer (Disney XD)
  • Silent (
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars (Netflix)

Outstanding Children’s Animated Program

  • All Hail King Julien (Netflix)
  • Arthur (PBS)
  • The Fairly OddParents (Nickelodeon)
  • Sanjay & Craig (Nickelodeon)

Outstanding Pre-School Children’s Animated Program

  • Peg+Cat (PBS)
  • Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video)
  • VeggieTales in the House (Netflix/DreamWorks)

Outstanding Pre-School Children’s Series

  • Dino Dan: Trek’s Adventures (Nickelodeon)
  • Sesame Street (PBS)
  • Yo Gabba Gabba! (Nickelodeon)

Outstanding Performer in an Animated Program

  • Danny Jacobs as King Julien, All Hail King Julien
  • Christopher Lloyd as Hacker, Cyberchase
  • Dick Van Dyke as Captain Goof Beard, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse
  • Megan Mullally as Miss Mettle, Sofia the First
  • Mark Hamill as Darth Bane, Star Wars: The Clone Wars

Outstanding Writing in a Preschool Animated Program

  • Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood (PBS)
    Writer/Story Editor: Angela C. Santomero
    Head Writer: Becky Friedman
    Writers: Jennifer Hamburg, Wendy Harris
  • Dinosaur Train (PBS)
    Writers: Elise Allen, Craig Bartlett, Joe Purdy
  • Doc McStuffins (Disney Jr.)
    Executive Producer/Story Editor/Creator: Chris Nee
    Writers: Kerri Grant, Kent Redeker
  • Peg+Cat (PBS)
    Head Writer: Billy Lopez
    Writers: Billy Aronson, Kevin Del Aguila, Dustin Ferrer

Outstanding Writing in an Animated Program

  • Cyberchase (PBS)
    Head Writer: George Arthur Bloom
    Writers: Allan Neuwirth, Adam Rudman
    Story Editor: Ellen Doherty
  • Lost Treasure Hunt (American Public Television)
    Writers: Matt Davis, David Rosenberg
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars (Netflix)
    Writer: Christian Taylor

  • WordGirl (PBS)
    Creative Supervisor: Jack Ferraiolo
    Head Writers: Tom Martin, Grant Moran
    Writers: Eric Ledgin, Justin Shanes

Outstanding Directing in an Animated Program

  • All Hail King Julien (Netflix)
    Director: Christo Stamboliev
  • Peter Rabbit (Nickelodeon)
    Supervising Director:David McCamley
    Episodic Director: Dino Athanassiou
    Animation Director: Maurizio Parimbelli
  • Silent (
    Directors: Limbert Fabian, Brandon Oldenburg
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars (Netflix)
    Supervising Director: Dave Filoni
    Directors: Brian Kalin O’Connell, Danny Keller, Steward Lee
  • Wild Kratts (PBS)
    Directors: Chris Kratt, Martin Kratt

Outstanding Sound Mixing in Animation

  • Avatar (Nickelodeon)
    Production Mixers: Justin Brinsfield, Matt Corey, Manny Grijalva
    Re-Recording Mixer: Adrian Ordonez
  • Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness (Nickelodeon)
    Production Mixer: Justin Brinsfield
    Re-Recording Mixer: Thomas J Maydeck C.A.S.
    SFX Mixer: Rob McIntyre
  • Silent (
    Re-Recording Mixer: Jurgen Scharpf
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars (Netflix)
    Production Mixer: Cameron Davis
    Re-Recording Mixer: David Acord
    Foley Mixer: Frank Rinella
    Scoring Mixer: Mark Evans
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Nickelodeon)
    Production Mixers: Justin Brinsfield, Matt Corey
    Re-Recording Mixer: D.J. Lynch
    SFX Mixer: Jeff Shiffman

Outstanding Sound Editing in Animation

  • Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness (Nickelodeon)
    Supervising Sound Editor: Gary Falcone
    Sound Designers: Rob McIntyre, Marc Schmidt
    Supervising Music Editor: Jeremy Zuckerman
    Supervising Dialogue Editor: Anna Adams
    Sound Effects Editors: Andrew Ing, Thomas J Maydeck C.A.S.
    Foley Editor: Roberto Dominguez Alegria
    Foley Artist: Cynthia Merrill
  • Silent (
    Sound Editor: Steve Boeddeker
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars (Netflix)
    Supervising Sound Editor: Matthew Wood
    Sound Designer: David Acord
    Music Editor: Dean Menta
    Sound Editors: Jeremy Bowker, Steve Slanec
    Foley Editors: Andrea Gard, Kevin Sellers
    Foley Artists: Dennie Thorpe, Jana Vance

Outstanding Casting for an Animated Series or Special

  • All Hail King Julien (Netflix)
    Ania O’Hare
  • Disney Jake and the Never Land Pirates (Disney Jr.)
    Abbie D’Andrea
    Brian Mathias
  • Sanjay & Craig (Nickelodeon)
    Meredith Layne, CSA
    Sarah Noonan, CSA
    Gene Vassilaros, CSA
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Nickelodeon)
    Meredith Layne, CSA
    Sarah Noonan, CSA
    Gene Vassilaros, CSA
  • The Legend of Korra (Nickelodeon)
    Shannon Reed, Casting Director
    Sarah Noonan, CSA
    Gene Vassilaros, CSA

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation honorees (determined in juried panel judging and to be presented at the Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards on April 24, 2015)

  • Jason Kolowski, Production Designer
    Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video)
  • Michael Granberry, Animator
    Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video)
  • Drew Hodges, Character Designer
    Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video)
  • Robyn Yannoukos, Lead Painter
    Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video)
  • Jairo Lizarazu, Location Designer
    Jake and the Never Land Pirates (Disney Junior)
  • Mårten Jönmark, Storyboard Artist
    Peter Rabbit (Nickelodeon)
  • Jax

    It’s really a shame Disney canceled Clone Wars the lost 13 episodes were some of the series best.

    • Mojo

      The last 2 season 6 arcs would of been just as good had they been completed too (that’d be the crystal crisis animatics and the Son of Dathomir comics)

  • Jessica

    The nominations are definitely well-deserved; Clone Wars was amazing. God how I miss that show.