Ren & Stimpy creator John Kricfalusi attended the Dallas International Film Festival this weekend to accept the Texas Avery Award. The award, which honors career achievement for animation artists, was started by the Dallas-based animation studio ReelFX and has been handed out annually since 2007. Previous winners are Brad Bird, Chris Wedge, Henry Selick, Pete Docter, Dean Deblois, Chris Sanders, Glen Keane, and June Foray.

While in Dallas, John spoke to Mark Walters of Big Fanboy about some memorable moments from his early career. It’s fun to hear John tell them in person, especially since you can’t read them in a book.

Below are a couple posters for the event created by ReelFX visual development artist Yashar Kassai:

(Thanks, Julian DiLorenzo‎, via Cartoon Brew’s Facebook Group)

Latest News from Cartoon Brew