The Mifa Pitches at the Annecy International Animated Film Festival has announced its award winners for the 2019 edition. The event showcases promising original animation projects in early stages of development across four categories: feature films, short films, tv series and specials, and interactive creations/transmedia.

The competition is open to creators from around the world and aims to reflect the global state of animation project development. Back in 2015, Mifa added a new category named Animation du Monde, which specifically supports projects from countries where animation is still an emerging industry.

This year, 37 projects were presented during the Mifa pitches, which took place at Annecy last week. The pitches were selected from a total of 498 submissions: 26 from North America, 83 from Latin America, 252 from Europe, 28 from the Middle East, 40 from Africa, 65 from Asia, and 4 from Oceania.

Various sponsored awards are presented to the winners including cash prizes, residences, development funding, and post-production services. Among the biggest awards is the Ciclic Prize, which offers €35,000 ($39,200) and a 6-month animation residency in Vendôme, France. The winner of that award was Denis Do for his feature film pitch Sorya (pictured at top), which tells the story of a 17-year-old Cambodian girl who moves to the capital city of Phnom Penh to work and provide for her family, and soon discovers her talent and passion: singing.

Do’s feature film debut, Funan, won the Feature Film Cristal at Annecy in 2018 and recently debuted theatrically in the United States through GKIDS.

Here is the full list of winners:

"Tistou of the Green Thumbs" by Amandine Taffin.
“Tistou of the Green Thumbs” by Amandine Taffin.
Feature Films

Ciclic Prize
Sorya by Denis Do (France)

Titrafilm Prize
Tistou of the Green Thumbs by Amandine Taffin (France)

Cristal Publishing Prize
Tistou of the Green Thumbs by Amandine Taffin (France)

“Sweeter is the Night” by Fabienne Wagenaar
Short Films

SACD Prize
La Grande Arche by Camille Authouart (France)

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Cinéma/Bourse des Festivals Prize
Sweeter is the Night by Fabienne Wagenaar (France)

Ciclic Prize
Hide by Daniel Benjamin Gray (Hungary, France, Canada)

Les Affranchis/Ville de Toulouse Prize
Leo by Antoine Presles (France)

Studios Alhambra Prize
Sweeter is the Night by Fabienne Wagenaar (France)

NEF Animation Prize
Hide by Daniel Benjamin Gray (Hungary, France, Canada)

Open Workshop Prize
Dino Doom on Desert Planet by Zsuzsanna Kreif and Balász Turai (Hungary)

Arte France Prize
The Crimson Season by Clémence Bouchereau (France)

“Hedgehog” by Gleb Belyakov
TV Series and Specials

Disney Channel Prize for a New Series
Hedgehog by Gleb Belyakov (Russia)

Ciclic Prize
Patouille by Inès Bernard-Espina, Mélody Boulissière, and Clémentine Campos (France)

Titrafilm Prize
The Stone by Joachim Herisse (France)

“Néphélé” by Alexandre Perez
Interactive Creations & Transmedia

SACD Interactive Creation Prize
Néphélé by Alexandre Perez (France)

INA Expert Prize
Dreamin’Zone by Fabienne Giezendanner and Pascal Conicella (Germany, South Korea, France, Switzerland)

“When I Am Sad” by Lilit Altunyan
Animation Du Monde

Folimage Prize
When I Am Sad by Lilit Altunyan (Armenia)

Ciclic Prize
Uzi (Thread) by Naddya Adhiambo Oluoch-Olunya (Kenya)

Animation news you can use
Support independent publishing

Your membership will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you. Support Cartoon Brew for as little as $1 a week — the process is fast and easy.

Become A Member   

Latest News from Cartoon Brew