We the People We the People

Netflix is getting both animated and patriotic this Fourth of July, when the streamer launches We the People, a series of ten animated music videos directed by a who’s who of animation directors and executive produced by the former U.S. president and his wife, Barack and Michelle Obama.

The series of three-minute videos, which aims to “educate a new generation of young Americans about the power of the people,” was created by Chris Nee (Doc McStuffins), who has an overall deal with Netflix.

The video directors are Peter Ramsey, Trisha Gum, Victoria Vincent, Benjy Brooke, Mabel Ye, Tim Rauch, Jorge R. Gutierrez, Daron Nefcy, Everett Downing, and Kendra Ryan.

We the People

They will be interpreting original music performed by H.E.R., Adam Lambert, Cordae, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Daveed Diggs, Brittany Howard, Robert Lopez, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Brandi Carlile, Kyle, Bebe Rexha, Andra Day, Janelle Monáe, and Amanda Gorman.

Here is the official synopsis:

Combining music and animation to educate a new generation of young Americans about the power of the people, We the People is a series of 10 animated music videos that covers a range of basic U.S. civics lessons in not-so-basic ways. With a groundbreaking mix of animated styles, each episode of We the People is an exuberant call to action for everyone to rethink civics as a living, breathing thing and to reframe their understanding of what government and citizenship mean in a modern world.

Nee executive-produces alongside Barack and Michelle Obama, Kenya Barris, Tonia Davis, and Priya Swaminathan. The producers are Ada Chiaghana, Erynn Sampson, and PeeDee Shindell.

We the People