Fright Krewe Fright Krewe

Dreamworks Animation has debuted the trailer for its animated horror series Fright Krewe, created by Eli Roth and James Frey.

The show will debut on Hulu and Peacock on October 2, aiming to keep “older kid” audiences entertained in the buildup to Halloween.

Roth built his reputation on gory, adult-aimed horror films such as Cabin Fever, Hostel, and Grindhouse. More recently, however, he’s broadened his aim, and Fright Krewe is more appropriately compared to his 2018 PG-rated film The House with a Clock in Its Walls.

This won’t be Roth’s first venture into animation, although his previous work isn’t particularly noteworthy. In 1999, he co-created the wrestling-themed series Chowdaheads, which never actually aired on tv, and in 2003, he directed the three-episode stop-motion series The Rotten Fruit, inspired by The Monkees. His most recognizable animation effort was directing a Dark Souls trailer back in 2016.

Frey, the controversial author of A Million Little Pieces, worked on the show through his production company Full Fathom Five.

Here’s everything Dreamworks has shared about Fright Krewe so far:

  • Fright Krewe is executive produced by Roth and Frey alongside writing partners Joanna Lewis and Kristine Songco, co-executive producers on Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous. Co-executive producers for Fright Krewe are Shane Acker and Mitchell Smith.
  • Dreamworks Animation Television teamed with Digitoonz to produce the series’ animation. The Delhi-headquartered Digitoonz has contributed to dozens of animation productions since launching in 2009, including Blue’s Clues & You!, Rise of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Rick and Morty, and Solar Opposites.
  • Fright Krewe logline: “An ancient prophecy and a Voodoo Queen put misfit teens in charge of saving New Orleans from the biggest demonic threat it’s faced in almost two centuries. But, honestly? Saving the world might be easier than becoming friends.”
  • The show’s main voice cast includes Sydney Mikayla, Tim Johnson Jr., Grace Lu, Chester Rushing, Terrence Little Gardenhigh, and Jacques Colimon. It also features recurring appearances by Vanessa Hudgens, Josh Richards, X Mayo, Rob Paulsen, David Kaye, JoNell Kennedy, Melanie Laurent, Chris Jai Alex, Reggie Watkins, Cherise Boothe, Keston John, Grey Delisle, and Krizia Bajos.